Two Weeks In: Checking My Progress

Happy Monday! I have to say this week is off to a great start. Yesterday marked two weeks of successfully completing PiYo. For those of you not familiar with the program, if consists of daily workouts scheduled over the course of two months, with Friday being the rest day. I started the program about two months ago, but between traveling, laziness and lack of motivation, it took me six weeks to get through the first three weeks’ worth of exercises. Then, after trying to complete the fourth week twice, I stopped. I had the realization that the pathetic effort I was putting forth wasn’t cutting it, and I needed a life change. [That’s also when I had my come-to-Jesus moment]. So, because my body didn’t need to relive the first three weeks of PiYo, I started over at week four, meaning my first successful week was really week four and my second week was week five. I am so proud of myself; it’s actually kind of sad.

Since I’m at the beginning of a new week and have passed the two week hump, I think it’s a good time to reflect and catalog my thoughts. Kind of a touch base with myself, you know?

Here are things I learned about myself, about PiYo and about the process in general:

  • Working out in the morning is excellent. It gets me started on the right foot and opens up my afternoon to all sorts of possibilities. It also means I’ll be very tired that night and I’ll probably sleep through my alarm the next morning – two morning workouts in a row is not my thing.
  • I’ve relearned [let’s face it, I knew it already] that planning is key. The best way to keep me on track is to plan my days and my eating schedule. For example, I know I have an event on Tuesday afternoon and a Happy Hour Thursday evening. This means I know I need to work out both of those mornings; otherwise I’ll miss a workout that day. This also means I need to plan my meals: I don’t need the extra boost of protein I normally eat in the afternoon since I won’t be working out later, so I have my protein snack in the morning and a lighter snack toward the end of the day.
  • Speaking of alcohol: this new healthier, leaner diet means my body reacts to alcohol in a completely different way! Basically I’m more of a lightweight, so now if I know I have a Happy Hour I try to have a more protein rich lunch with quinoa or gluten – free pasta. Another tip: I order G&Ts, and try to alternate one drink and one glass of water. My friends think I’m drinking so they won’t nag me, but I’m staying hydrated and drinking less alcohol! Win win!
  • PiYo can be killer for my back. My core is very weak, but I like to be as intense as possible, which has resulted in a couple days of lower back pain. I’ve learned to really listen to my body. I may have the energy, but if after too many burpees my back hurts, I have to do the modified version. It’s not worth an injury later on.

All in all, I’d say I’ve had a great two weeks. I can tell the change physically and mentally. I’m more energized, flexible and have a much better attitude. I actually danced around my apartment by myself the other day – I haven’t done that since college!  I love the results so far and can’t wait to see what the next two weeks bring.

Leave a Reply

