Improvements

I have to admit one of the worst things about being fat is when I feel like you look a certain way and then you see what you actually look like. So often the person in the mirror or the person in the picture isn’t reflective of the person I am. The only way to change that? Look at the picture, find things I want to fix, and work to fix them.

With that in mind, I’ve begun taking more pictures of myself (that I will not be posting online). They’re a base to work from and a way to measure progress and improvements as well.

One thing I hadn’t thought of was taking pictures during a workout, in specific positions. It seems like the most obvious, common sense thing, but for whatever reason had never occurred to me. Then one day, my mom walked by as I was in an open three legged  downward dog and noted how much I’d improved at that particular position. She’s the one who suggested I take pictures to gauge my improvement.

So here you go. We’ll use these as ‘end of PiYo Round 1’ pictures to then compare for after I complete round two.

The following is a three-legged downward dog, from PocketYoga. That version involves square hips, toes facing the floor.

downward_dog_leg_up_R

Now this is me, doing an open hip three-legged downward dog, which involves turning the hip out to have the toes of the lifted leg facing outwards. Look at how my right foot is almost flat to the floor!!

me2

 

This next pose is called ‘wild thing’ on PocketYoga. It looks simple, right? False.

wild_thing_L

This is me, attempting that same thing. Eventually I should have a more flattened back, but for now, this is as good as it gets. It’s hard to tell, but I also need to work on my alignment, my right hip is kind of sagging.

me3

I can’t begin to tell you how much I’ve already improved and how proud I am of myself. I can’t wait to see what these poses will look like in two months!

 

Leave a Reply

