Brand I’m Loving: Biore

I am a huge advocate of taking care of your skin, especially the skin on your face. My face is permanently paler than my body because I always wear sunblock and protect it as much as I can!  While I wish I could get a monthly facial, I shoot for a yearly one instead and do the rest using at-home products. There are definitely some staples in my cabinet, but I like to try new things and rotate products in my routine to keep things fresh.

I know we all see those ads on Instagram or Facebook of charcoal peel-off masks and I have to admit, they piqued my curiosity. This charcoal face care is a trend I definitely had to try.

I ended up buying Biore’s Self Heating One Minute Mask thinking it was a peel off mask. Yeah, I didn’t read the label. I’m that person. Oops. Once I  got over the initial letdown, I figured I’d give them a try.

 

IMG_5311
Biore Self Heating One Minute Mask

My first application (the box has four) was super messy. The gel got in between my fingers and started dripping down my arm. It started heating up there and only about 2/3 of the product actually ended up on my face. Needless to say, my bathroom was a mess and I was less than convinced.

By the time I tried again, I thought through how to squeeze the product out of the tube and how to  apply it. All of it ended up on my face. Hooray!

IMG_5320
Letting the mask heat up.

My thoughts: the mask wasn’t as thick as I expected and not as charcoal-y as I expected. That said, my skin felt amazing after using it. Somehow I feel like it opened my pores, cleaned them and moisturized my face all in the short time I had it on. I’m not going to re-buy soon because I have other products I want to try, but I’ve already recommended it to several people.

The next product I tried is Biore’s Deep Cleansing Charcoal Pore Strips. I never used those nose strips when they became a fad in high school, but my sister used these and loved them, so I figured I’d give them a try!

IMG_5439
Biore Charcoal Pore Strips 

Thoughts: I was actually pretty surprised by how much I like these! They’re super easy to apply and the strip isn’t bothersome when it’s on. It didn’t hurt me at all when I peeled it off either! I do think it helped that I had exfoliated my whole face beforehand, so my pores were nice and open. It was gross how much exfoliating alone doesn’t do (as evident by everything that came out on the strip – ew.)

Overall, I really liked both products. The nose strips will now become a part of my weekly routine and the self-heating mask will probably work its way into my selection of masks as well. I’d recommend them both!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

