Breakfasts of Nashville

If you’ve ever searched a location on Pinterest, you’re likely to find pins and posts about food. In planning a trip to LA, I recently came across a few myself. “Eat Cheap in LA,” “Where to Eat in Los Angeles” and “Best LA Brunches” are all posts I found (without searching for food) that ended up on my board. What can I say? I’m a foodie.

Part of the beauty that is living in Nashville is that it’s such a foodie town. There are always new restaurants popping up on top of all the ones that have opened in recent years. I love exploring this city and trying out new things, so I’ve done a round up of some of my favorite breakfast spots!

tofu rancheros at graze
Tofu Rancheros at Graze

Graze: a quaint, plant-based bistro in East Nashville. It’s the only vegetarian food I’ve had here but wow, it was so good. It could pass for the real thing if you hadn’t told me. Everything else on their menu looks delicious as well! They also have pretty decent coffee, good service and a laid back vibe.

salmon smokey and the benedict at saint anejo
Salmon Smokey + The Benedict at Saint Anejo

Saint Añejo: It’s actually known as an all-day party place on the weekends, but the food and cocktails are excellent! (Warning: they’ll recommend tequila-based cocktails at brunch and let me say, that does not pair well with breakfast food.) They dim the lights and crank up the music just before 11 am, so if you’re looking for a chill vibe, go elsewhere. That said, this place is so fun!

lox bagel at bagel face
Lox Bagel at Bagel Face Bakery

Bagel Face Bakery: This bakery looks like it’s an abandoned store from the outside but feels like a shambly cafe / schoolhouse on the inside. Between the mismatched furniture, bookshelves and kid’s toys, it could pass as a cafe / daycare. It’s kind of strange, to be honest. They bake their own bagels and have homemade lox cream cheese (my favorite thing!). The service is friendly and the bagels are yummy!

chicken biscuit n gravy at House
Chicken Biscuit & Gravy at House

House: It’s actually called House: A Social Eatery. It’s a stand-alone house (duh) in The Nations. They do live music frequently too! Their brunch menu is limited but everything was really good! They also have an excellent bar and bottomless mimosas…I recommend The Hummingbird though, seriously. So.Good.

bonuts at biscuit love
Bonuts at Biscuit Love

Biscuit Love: If you’ve ever looked up Nashville, you’ve come across Biscuit Love. What started as a food truck has turned into two brick-and-mortar locations, with a third opening fairly soon. I’d say it’s famous for it’s Bonuts, which are made of fried biscuit dough. Think a cross between a biscuit and a donut. They’re normally served with the lemon mascarpone and blueberry compote drizzled on top, but I order it on the side because that’s too sweet for me. Other than the Bonuts, I will say hands down they have THE BEST biscuits ever. Period. They’re big, soft, fluffy heaven. If I’m having a real #treatyourself kind of moment, I’ll get the Southern Benny, but normally I’ll order the Biscuits and Gravy.

blt GF dose
Breakfast BLT on GF bread at Dose

Dose: Dose is more of a coffee place and bakery, but they also serve bagels, sandwiches and light salads. It’s more the type of place to come with a computer to get some work or studying done, which is why I’m a fan. Sometimes I want to work and have someone else cook my food, you know? The menu isn’t spectacular, but the Breakfast BLT is delicious and they have gluten free bread that tastes like real bread! Plus, it’s locally-sourced.

There are so many more places on my list and since breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, I’m not stopping anytime soon!

Leave a Reply

